What changes
AT&T has made its Connected Life home security system compatible with Gemini for Home features. The company claims that it is the first home security product to integrate with Google Home Premium, the package that provides access to Gemini-based capabilities. This is a software integration: the cameras and sensors remain those of the Connected Life system, while advanced processing goes through Google's smart home interfaces.
With the update, Gemini for Home can describe in detail events captured by the security cameras, indicating, for example, who delivered a package and how many items they left. It is also possible to query video recordings with natural-language questions, such as asking what dug up the garden overnight or who let the dogs out, and to consult daily summaries of activity inside and outside the home.
Pricing and new features
Gemini-based capabilities are not included in the purchase of the system: according to reports, they are available only with the $29.99-per-month Connected Life professional monitoring plan. This indicates that the AI integration is part of a recurring-revenue model, in which advanced features remain tied to the most comprehensive subscription rather than to the hardware alone.
AT&T is also adding the ability to automatically arm or disarm home protection based on the user's proximity to the home. The feature uses the device's location to arm or disarm the system, reducing the need for manual intervention. The material does not specify what technical requirements or levels of accuracy are needed for the mechanism to work correctly.
The context and open questions
Connected Life was launched last December in collaboration with Google and Abode. The update now uses Google's Gemini-based Home APIs, the tools that allow brands and developers to integrate artificial intelligence features into their devices. In the same ecosystem, ADT has also hinted at its intention to bring Gemini for Home features to its security systems, without any timeline or methods being specified.
Several aspects remain to be clarified. The source reports AT&T's claim that its product is the first, but does not offer independent evidence to verify it. It does not say when the update will be available to all customers or whether the new features will require additional devices or plans beyond the one indicated. It does not specify how the video recordings and location data used for automatic arming are handled, nor whether the search and summary features will be extended to other plans. These are relevant questions for assessing the actual impact of the integration on privacy and on the accessibility of the service.
